Biden names technology hubs for 32 states and Puerto Rico to help the industry and create jobs


WASHINGTON —The Biden administration, on Monday, announced the designation of 31 technology hubs spanning 32 states and Puerto Rico. This initiative aims to foster innovation and generate employment opportunities within industries concentrated in these regions.

President Joe Biden stated, "We are committed to investing in critical technologies, including biotechnology, essential materials, quantum computing, and advanced manufacturing, with the goal of reestablishing the United States as a global leader in innovation across various domains. I firmly believe that our nation is on the brink of a transformative period."

These technology hubs are the outcome of an effort initiated by the Commerce Department in May. It involves the allocation of $500 million in grants to various cities, with the objective of broadening the landscape of technology investments. This allocation is a part of the $10 billion authorization outlined in last year's CHIPS and Science Act, aimed at stimulating investments in cutting-edge technologies like artificial intelligence, quantum computing, and biotechnology. This endeavour seeks to extend the sphere of tech investment, which has predominantly been centred around a few major U.S. cities, including Austin, Texas; Boston; New York; San Francisco; and Seattle, to other parts of the country.

"I must emphasize that, throughout my career in public service, I have never witnessed an initiative garnering as much attention as this one," expressed Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo during a conference call on Sunday, leading up to the announcement. She revealed that her department had received a remarkable 400 applications.

Raimondo went on to say, "It doesn't matter where I go or who I meet - be it CEOs, governors, senators, congresspeople, or university presidents - everyone is eager to share details about their applications and express their excitement."

Formally known as the Regional Technology and Innovation Hub Program, this initiative aligns with the President's economic vision, emphasizing that individuals should have the opportunity to secure quality employment within their own communities. It underscores the importance of dispersing opportunities across the nation, rather than concentrating them in a few areas. The White House has been keen on promoting this message and highlighting President Biden's associated policies, particularly as he embarks on his 2024 reelection campaign.

These 31 technology hubs extend their reach across a diverse array of states and regions, including Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Montana, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Virginia, New Hampshire, Missouri, Kansas, Maryland, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, Minnesota, Louisiana, Idaho, Wyoming, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, New York, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Ohio, Maine, Washington, and Puerto Rico.